Rachel's Recipes

Crockpot Chicken Tacos

Posted on: June 22, 2011

I had to work late last night and knew I’d be too exhausted to make dinner when I got home. Luckily my crockpot came to the rescue. These were super easy to throw together and they just cooked all day long.

Next time I may try to add some corn and black beans.

Ingredients
8 oz block cream cheese (I used neufchatel)
1 packet taco seasoning
2 pounds chicken breasts, frozen (if fresh, cut the cooking time in half)
14.5 oz can fire roasted tomatoes, undrained (mine were with garlic)
4 oz can diced green chilis
tortillas
toppings of your choice (sour cream, avacado, etc)

Directions
In a bowl, mix together the cream cheese and taco seasoning.

Add the chicken to a four quart slow cooker and top with the tomatoes, chilis, and cream cheese mixture. Set to low for 6-8 hours.

Shred the chicken (our basically fell apart as I stirred it so I didn’t bother shredding it too much) and mix together. You may want to remove the chicken with a slotted spoon since there will be some juice in the bottom of the crock. Add the mixture to your tortilla and top to your heart’s desire.

Slightly adapted from: Stephanie O’Dea

1 Response to "Crockpot Chicken Tacos"

I just love cooking in my crockpot but I’ve never made chicken tacos in them. Such a wonderful and easy recipe. I can’t wait to try it out. Thanks for sharing this

Leave a Reply

