Rachel's Recipes

Maroni’s Meatballs

Posted on: July 31, 2011

I was watching Food Network’s Throwdown and the next thing I knew, I was making these meatballs for dinner. I love the saltiness from the Romano cheese and I always have a package of ground chuck on hand so these were quick for me to throw together.

Ingredients
1 pound ground chuck
1/2 cup dried bread crumbs
4 large eggs
1/2 cup whole milk
3/4 cup grated Romano
3 ounces grated Spanish onion
4 Tablespoons finely diced fresh garlic
4 Tablespoons finely chopped fresh Italian parsley leaves (I used 1 heaping Tablesoon of dried parsley)
4 Tablespoons finely chopped fresh basil leaves (I used 1 heaping Tablesoon of dried basil)

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a baking sheet with olive oil cooking spray. (I actually prefer to first line my baking sheet with foil and then spray with cooking spray, although these did release pretty easily from the baking sheet.)

Mix all ingredients thoroughly in large bowl. If mixture seems a little loose add more bread crumbs.

Roll meatballs loosely about the size of a golf ball and place on baking sheet. Place into preheated oven for approximately 35 to 40 minutes.

I froze half the batch to be used for a quick dinner later.

Source: Food Network

Leave a Reply

